Latest 8 Dec 2022

Women's List announced for ASB Classic 2023

by Media
Women's List announced for ASB Classic 2023

Three Grand Slam tennis champions headline an outstanding field confirmed today for the return of the ASB Classic to Auckland in the New Year.

US Open champions Emma Raducanu and Sloane Stephens and Australian Open winner Sofia Kenin have been confirmed for the Auckland event, set for the ASB Tennis Arena from 2 to 8 January.

Tournament Director Nicolas Lamperin confirmed world No. 7 Coco Gauff (USA), runner up at the French Open, and Leylah Fernandez (Canada), runner-up in the US Open, among the initial 22 entries.

Given a three-year break, and with the New Zealand event restricted to one player ranked in the world’s top-10, ASB Classic organisers are thrilled with the quality and depth that will be on display.

“We are celebrating the centenary of tennis at the ASB Tennis Arena, and I trust that the quality of this field is a fitting legacy to the great players who have graced these courts over the last 100 years,” said Lamperin.

“Given we have two WTA 500 tournaments across the Tasman competing with us, who have no restrictions on the number of top-10 players, then I am thrilled with the wonderful support we have had from some of the very best female players on the planet.

“Added to them are a number of players who have travelled to Auckland on several occasions, and some extraordinary young talent who are the future of our sport.”

Lamperin has confirmed the 22 players plus two of his four wildcard selections, with two more to come along with six players to progress from qualifying.

Gauff, at world No 7, will be the top seed with the American delighted to return to Auckland.

“It was probably one of my favourite tournaments that I’ve ever played and Auckland is such a beautiful city and I am excited to go back. I chose to return to because I love the tournament so much,” said the American.

“I definitely missed it with COVID and I wasn’t sure they were going to bring it back.”

Stephens and fellow American Lauren Davis are former champions returning to Auckland.

Stephens, who has been as high as No 3 in the world and has won seven WTC titles, triumphed at the ASB Classic in 2016, while Davis is returning for the ninth time including her victory in 2017.

“We are blessed that these leading players have enjoyed their experiences on and off the court in Auckland and continue to return,” said Lamperin.

“We have also been able to provide opportunities for players who have been at the top of the sport, but are coming back to the sport from prolonged injury.”

Raducanu and Kenin, who both rose into the world’s top-10, have chosen to play in Auckland as they return to the sport at the highest level.

“With the restriction on the number of top-ranked players, this tournament has always looked to provide prospects for rising young players. It is the chance for the New Zealand fans to see tomorrow’s stars in action today.”

These include the likes of Czech sisters Linda and Brenda Fruhvirtova, at 17 and 15 years respectively, with the older sister already with a WTA title to her credit and younger sister with a string of ITF titles.

Among the other young players to watch include the 21-year-old Chinese pair of Xiyu Wang, already in the world’s top 50, and Xinyu Wang – no relation – who has already played in the Australian Open and is inside the world top 100.

There are two further wildcards to be named, and the remaining six players will emerge from qualifying at the ASB Tennis Arena.


The field announced today is (with world ranking):

1 Coco Gauff (USA) World Ranking 7; 2 Karolína Muchová (CZE) 22; 3 Sloane Stephens (USA) 37; 4 Leylah Fernandez (CAN) 40; 5 Bernarda Pera (USA) 44; 6 Xiyu Wang (CHN) 50; 7 Danka Kovinić (MON) 57; 8 Madison Brengle (USA) 59; 9 Lin Zhu (CHN) 64; 10 Rebecca Marino (CAN) 65; 11 Elisabetta Cocciaretto (ITA) 66; 12 Tatjana Maria (GER) 70; 13 Tereza Martincová (CZE) 73; 14 Emma Raducanu (GBR) 75; 15 Linda Fruhvirtova (CZE) 77; 16 Anna Blinkova 80; 17 Julia Grabher (AUT) 83; 18 Dalma Gálfi (HUN) 84; 19 Tamara Zidanšek (SLO) 85; 20 Xinyu Wang (CHN) 86; 21 Lauren Davis (USA) 87; 22 Catherine McNally (USA) 93.

Wildcards: Brenda Fruhvirtova (CZE), Sofia Kenin (USA).